Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo go head-to-head for2016 FIFA Best Player Award

Lionel MessiandCristiano Ronaldohave won the last eight world’s best player awards that were given out.And once again, the duo will go head-to-head along withAntoine Griezmann– who finished as Euro 2016 top scorer – for the 2016 FIFA Best Player award.READ:Vardy, Pogba, Ronaldo, Messi make 2016 Ballon d’Or 30-man shortlistThe award this year is being organised solely by FIFA, following the ending of a six-year association with the French magazine France Football for the FIFA Ballon d’Or award.Five-time world’s best player winner Messi was exceptional as Barcelona wonthe 2015-16 La Liga title, but missed a penalty as Argentina lost the 2016 Copa America final to Chile 2-4 on penalties in front of 82,000 spectators at the MetLife Stadium, East Rutherford, New Jersey.READ:FIFA announces new award to rival Ballon d’OrRonaldo on his part has been favoured towin this year’s award having scored 51 goals during the 2015/16 season. The Portuguese star also won the UEFA Champions League with Real Madrid, and the European Championship with Portugal.Meanwhile, the shortlist for the women’s award comprisesCarli Lloyd(U.S.),Marta(Brazil) andMelanie Behringer(Germany).Real Madrid managerZinedine Zidane, Leicester City managerClaudio Ranieri, and Portugal national team coachFernando Santosare up for the Coach of the Year award.The ceremony will hold in Zurich, Switzerland on January 9.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s